Cats and maps.

August 29, 2023

The warmth and weight of a cat on a lap

As I study a map of the counties across the UK and select colours to identify those where…

Well what, exactly? I decide to select those I have spent at least a night in.

But the cat’s ear brushes the edge of my texting hand

Her purrs and her paw movements require my attention.

And my memory is better for town names rather than counties anyways.

But why are people NOT selecting blue for the outline area (which is sea, or course!)?

The weight of the cat comforts me, and her warmth through the blanket transfers to my thighs and the purring is fading as she drifts to sleep, with only a single grumbling mew as my texting hand temporarily roused her.

I can’t resist stroking the top of her head again, and once more the grumble-mew, with purring – mixed messages.

Her claws temporarily extend then retract, and her pattern of breathing slows, and lulls me to the edge of sleep too

Leave a comment